A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

PLAY WITH ME – Kristen Proby

play with me

ANA Review: 5 hearts

Will Montgomery is a successful professional football player and seemingly has it all. He’s not used to being told no, and certainly doesn’t take no for an answer. So when he turns his charms on his sister’s sexy rocker-chick friend Meg, he’s not only turned down, but met with open hostility, piquing his curiosity and libido. He’s determined to show her that he’s not the arrogant jock she thinks he is, and to get her into his bed.
Megan McBride is not impressed with Will Montgomery, his fat contract, fancy car, or his arrogant public persona. She doesn’t have time for a relationship, and if she’s learned anything in life, it’s that loving means losing, so she guards her heart ferociously. But she can’t deny the overwhelming attraction to the sexy, tattooed athlete, and when Will starts breaking down her defenses and grabs hold of her heart, will she be able to admit her feelings for him, or will her troubled past cause her to lose the first man she’s ever truly loved?

The With Me in Seattle series is one of my favorites, and an absolute must-have in my series spotlight. First up was Luke & Natalie’s story in Come Away With Me, which I loved! Next came Fight With Me starring Nate & Jules. I absolutely loved their story too (not to mention Nate’s body jewelry), but was dying for more! I then picked up Under the Mistletoe With Me, a cute novella about Isaac & his wife, Stacy. It was short & sweet, but not nearly enough, so I busied myself with other reads… waited and then waited some more, until finally my prayers were answered!

Play With Me is Will & Megan’s story, the third book and latest installment in the Seattle series. And I’ve gotta say, while I was really excited for its release, I didn’t think anything could top Fight With Me. But this book? Boy oh boy, did it prove me wrong! Play With Me was fantabulous. Just completely, undeniably AMAZEBALLS. And totally worth my 5 hearts. Here’s why:

We first met Meg & Will in Fight With Me – you remember the scene with Jules at the burger place? Well… in that supercharged moment, sparks flew and I knew, just knew, that it was the beginning of something amazing. Megan McBride is so easy to love and just the perfect match for Will. She’s funny, lazy, stylish, a total smart-ass, and oh holy piercings, is she naughty! [The woman spends 99% of the book commando!] Sure Meg had some trust issues, and there were even a few moments when she felt self-conscious, but these flaws endeared her to me even more because they were real and totally something I could relate to.

Will Montgomery, for the record, is NOT an asshole. He’s just a big, beefy, beautiful quarterback who’s blunt and knows what (or rather, whom) he wants. Will is the total yummy package – strong, sweet, sweaty, and hungry all the time! I LOVED that we got to see his POV in this book. Though few and far between, they came at precisely the right moment, and really gave Play With Me a special touch.

When I first tried to picture Will, I couldn’t think of any living, breathing football player that could do him justice. Eventually, my imagination came up with a blue-eyed William Levy. To me, the man fits the bill perfectly – he’s got the broad shoulders, drop your panties smile, and we all know that Sir Levy can move his hips like no one’s business! [Do yourself a favor and go on YouTube to search “William Levy DWTS” if you have no idea what I’m talking about.] Anyway… I loved everything about Will Montgomery, from the top of his gorgeous head all the way down to his size 14 feet – cause you know what they say about the size of a man’s feet! ;] And I especially loved the way he treats Megan, like the woman is his everything.

Now I don’t know if it’s due to that fact that as a nurse, I understand Meg’s work struggles… Or maybe it’s because I’ve fallen for a football player or two in the past… I guess I can’t pinpoint any one particular thing because this book just clicked for me on so many different levels. Between these parallels to my life, the secondary characters, and Will & Meg’s personalities, this story was so darn likable. Some people might think that their relationship came together pretty quickly, but I liked how easy and effortless it was between them. From the first page to the last, they really knew how to push each other’s buttons, and their banter had me smiling to the very end.

thoroughly enjoyed this book – so much so that, days later… I’ve still got this silly-stupid grin on my face just thinking about it. This book was so hot and funny; I was fanning myself one minute, and then doubled over laughing the next! I happened to be reading the bachelorette party scene while waiting in my doctor’s office, and I guffawed over their antics. Guffawed! (I mean who does that nowadays?!) There were too many wonderful moments to count: Shelby and date #1… the rain and hood episode, which was just electric… the blow drying scene… and that first “I love you”! It’s always a significant moment, no matter what book you read or who’s saying it… but the way Will did it… Lord almighty, I just melted!

One last thing I wanna squeeze in here:

I ADORE the Montgomery’s! I swear, I spend half my time wanting to get drunk with the Mungumry women (so one of the guys can carry me home, duh) and the other half thinking about how I can marry into their family. I mean… I know I’d probably have a hard time hanging around all those men – being bombarded by that much hotness & testosterone on a daily basis has got to be overwhelming – but I just love how they care for their significant others! Seriously. Their girls are damn lucky!

There isn’t much else for me to say besides drop what you’re doing and if you haven’t already, go buy the entire series now!! I promise, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. Kristen Proby is one seriously gifted lady, and I’d gladly give her a lifetime supply of handbags so long as she never stops writing.

Now that I’m finally done writing this review, it’s back to the waiting game =/ I’m super excited for Caleb’s story and more of Will & Meg, but up next? Rock With Me featuring Leo & Sam =] Stay tuned!

 [♥♥♥♥♥] Buy it @ B&NAMAZON

3 comments on “PLAY WITH ME – Kristen Proby

  1. Joanna Hoover
    March 12, 2013

    Have this one on my TBR list. I can’t wait to get my hands on it and read. I loved the others… 🙂

  2. Marianne
    March 18, 2013

    I seriously just bought the whole series without a second thought. I love your review and I think I am going to like all three books.

    • P.J. Evans
      March 19, 2013

      Thank you Marianne! That’s the best comment a blogger could ever ask for =D After you read them, I’d LOVE to know what you think!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2013 by in REVIEW.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

