A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

WALKING DISASTER – Jamie McGuire

ANA Review: ♥ of GOLD

Finally, the highly anticipated follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Beautiful Disaster.

Can you love someone too much?

Travis Maddox learned two things from his mother before she died: Love hard. Fight harder.

In Walking Disaster, the life of Travis is full of fast women, underground gambling, and violence. But just when he thinks he is invincible, Abby Abernathy brings him to his knees.

Every story has two sides. In Beautiful Disaster, Abby had her say. Now it’s time to see the story through Travis’s eyes.

Walking Disaster is Travis’s side of the story first told in Beautiful Disaster. It’s not a sequel, rather a companion novel for those who want to experience Abby and Travis’s journey through his eyes. That said, I would highly recommend re-reading Beautiful Disaster before starting Walking Disaster. Unless, of course, you’ve read it so many times you know every little detail down to what outfit Abby wore for her birthday… in that case, dive right in!

First off, I have to say that, for me, Beautiful Disaster is like the Holy Grail of all literature. The first time I read it, I loved it. And no matter how many times I come to back to that story, it never gets old. With each and every re-read, I’m blown away all over again by how much intense emotion Jamie McGuire packs into those pages.

When I first heard the news about Walking Disaster, I was over-the-moon ecstatic. Travis Maddox is one of my all-time favorite characters, male or female. He’s badass and just so unapologetically REAL. With him, what you see is truly what you get, and if you don’t like it, well then f*@# you. On top of my Travis crush, I’m a total sucker for the male POV, so to have those things together in one book? Believe me when I say I was practically hyperventilating in anticipation for Walking Disaster’s release.

But once the euphoria settled down, I started to get a little worried. Would it be as good as Beautiful Disaster – the story that I subconsciously compare all others to?  Well, after reading Walking Disaster – TWICE in 2 days – I can absolutely say that Jamie McGuire outdid herself. I don’t know why I let the doubt creep in because she delivered the goods and then some. Walking Disaster not only met my expectations, it exceeded them and dare I say, replaced its predecessor on my Holy Grail pedestal.

There were so many amazing elements in this book, but what struck me the most was Travis’s humanness. In Beautiful Disaster, we could sympathize with Abby’s emotions and all that Travis put her through, but in Walking Disaster you come to understand the vulnerable, broken man behind the Mad Dog fighter façade. I have to really commend Jamie for giving us raw Travis. In this book, we learn his beliefs, his values, and get to truly feel what he feels. His pain, regret, uncertainty, rage, and all-consuming love for Abby – it’s all laid bare in black & white. We saw a hint of it in Beautiful Disaster but it doesn’t compare to the heartbreaking, in-your-face sucker punch that is Travis in Walking Disaster.

By the time I had gotten through 80% on my Kindle, I started to slow down my pace because I didn’t want it to end.  When I finally finished the book, I had mixed emotions. I was content. Happy. But I’m a greedy girl and I honestly don’t think I could ever get tired of reading about Abby and Travis. And while I still want more… I thought the epilogue did them justice. The ending fit them both perfectly and gave satisfying closure to a love story that is as memorable to me as Romeo and Juliet.

I ABSOLUTELY LOVED everything about this book – the heartbreak, the fights, the interactions between the Maddox brothers and their dad, the fact we had more of Shepley and America, the intensity, the all-encompassing emotions – all of it clicked for me.

Jamie McGuire has made a life-long, loyal fan out of me and while Travis and Abby’s story may be over, I’m praying to the book gods for more of the Maddox clan – especially Trent and Thomas! In the mean time, I plan to read Walking Disaster over and over again.

*An advanced copy was provided by Atria Books in exchange for an honest review.

[-♥-] Buy it @ B&NAMAZON

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2013 by in REVIEW.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

