A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

Blog Tour: MUSIC OF THE HEART – Katie Ashley

17492_544974702201925_447872796_n

ANA Review: 4 hearts

For Abby Renard, the plan was supposed to be simple—join her brothers’ band on the last leg of their summer tour and decide if she’s finally ready for the limelight by becoming its fourth member. Of course, she never imagined stumbling onto the wrong tour bus at Rock Nation would accidentally land her in the bed of Jake Slater, the notorious womanizing lead singer of Runaway Train. When he mistakes her for one of his groupie’s, Abby quickly lets him know she sure as hell isn’t in his bed on purpose.
Jake Slater never imagined the angel who fell into his bed would resist his charms by promptly kneeing him in the balls. Of course, the fact she seems like a prissy choir girl makes her anything but his type. So he is more than surprised when after betting Abby she wouldn’t last a week on their tour bus, she is more than willing to prove him wrong. But as Jake’s personal life begins to implode around him, he finds an unlikely ally in Abby. He’s never met a woman he can talk to, joke with, or most importantly make music with.
As the week starts comes to a close, neither Abby nor Jake is ready to let go. Can a sweetheart Country songstress and a bad boy of Rock N Roll actually have a future together?

I’m a sucker for romance with rock stars. Especially tattooed ones that shed their groupie-banging ways in pursuit of their one true love. I also happen to like stories with bets, duets, dual POVs, and music. Katie Ashley’s latest book, Music of the Heart, had all these elements plus more! I’ve been looking forward to its release for a LONG time, soaking up any and all teasers I could find. And I’m happy to say it was well worth the wait. As usual, Katie didn’t disappoint!

This story had me crying, laughing, cursing, and wanting to throw my Kindle at a certain character’s face. There were so many funny moments, though my top favorite has got to be the fountain scene! I also laughed out loud when Maroon 5 was mentioned because as much as I lust after Adam Levine, what Katie wrote is totally true! *And for the record, I’m really glad Runaway Train is not the Jake Slater show 😉 There were plenty of tender moments too, like when Jake would sing to Abby. I swear, every song mentioned put a smile on my face as I tried to imagine Jake and Abby singing them.

I really liked Abby. She was spunky, sassy, and really knew how to hold her own. From the moment she met Jake, she gave as good as she got and wasn’t phased by his rock star status. As for Jake, I loved that he was such a Momma’s boy who wasn’t afraid to call her if he needed advice. I liked getting his POV and truly believed in his feelings for Abby, but there were moments when I wasn’t sure if I wanted to slap, strangle or hug him.

In the beginning Jake was a jerk, and while I eventually warmed up to him, I thought that throughout the book, he would still screw up without really owning up to his mistakes. I understand that Abby was a bit naïve, and that he had personal issues he was dealing with… but I don’t think it justified his bouts of horrible behavior towards Abby. For her fiery personality, I was surprised at how easily she forgave Jake. Especially because she has older brothers, I had expected her to react differently to the way Jake would sometimes treat her. Don’t get me wrong – I like them as a couple… but I wish Abby had been just a little more stubborn, because Jake could have worked a little harder to earn her forgiveness!

Overall, I absolutely loved this book! What I think separates Music of the Heart from other rock star romances, and what me drew in initially, was the interesting story line. I also loved the chemistry between Jake and Abby and the bantering amongst the bandmates. It was fun to see them interacting with one another because you really got to know all the characters. Everyone from Brayden, his wife Lily, and their kids, to AJ, Rhys, Abby’s brothers, and Jake’s mom added something special to this story. In fact, I think I actually enjoyed the “secondary” characters more than the main ones!

I’m really looking forward to more of Runaway Train – especially AJ and Rhys’s stories! And maybe.. hopefully.. perhaps? Katie has something in store for the guys of Jacob’s Ladder as well 🙂 I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

[♥♥♥♥] Buy it @ B&NAMAZON

Screen Shot 2013-03-30 at 8.45.21 PM

Say hello to the deliciously talented men of RUNAWAY TRAIN!

527725_10152743478575647_281980339_n

For Katie Ashley’s Music of the Heart playlist, click on the ↑ image.

For a chance to win a copy of MUSIC OF THE HEART, just click HERE to enter! *TEN e-book copies. TEN winners. GIVEAWAY is international.*

OFFICIAL BANNER

SPECIAL THANKS to Katie Ashley and The Book Avenue!

For more stops on the MUSIC OF THE HEART World Tour, click on the ↑ ticket.

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 5.35.36 PM

Katie AshelyKatie Ashley is the New York Times, USA Today, and Amazon Best-Selling author of The Proposition.
She lives outside of Atlanta, Georgia with her two very spoiled dogs and one outnumbered cat.
She has a slight obsession with Pinterest, The Golden Girls, Harry Potter, Shakespeare, Supernatural, Designing Women, and Scooby-Doo.
She spent 11 ½ years educating the Youth of America aka teaching MS and HS English until she left to write full time in December 2012.
She also writes Young Adult fiction under the name Krista Ashe.

Connect with KATIE: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

One comment on “Blog Tour: MUSIC OF THE HEART – Katie Ashley

  1. lorraine
    April 6, 2013

    I’ll take that mama’s boy! Love Jake and AJ and Rhys and Brayden the whole crew!
    Abby is a sweetheart and Jake is deserving of her love. Rock on Katie Ashley!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 6, 2013 by in BLOG TOUR, Giveaway, Playlist, REVIEW.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

