A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

TEN TINY BREATHS – K.A. Tucker

17278200

ANA Review: ♥ of GOLD

Just breathe, Kacey. Ten tiny breaths. Seize them. Feel them. Love them.
Four years ago Kacey Cleary’s life imploded when her car was hit by a drunk driver, killing her parents, boyfriend, and best friend. Still haunted by memories of being trapped inside, holding her boyfriend’s lifeless hand and listening to her mother take her last breath, Kacey wants to leave her past behind. Armed with two bus tickets, twenty-year-old Kacey and her fifteen-year-old sister, Livie, escape Grand Rapids, Michigan, to start over in Miami. Struggling to make ends meet, Kacey needs to figure out how to get by. But Kacey’s not worried. She can handle anything—anything but her mysterious neighbor in apartment 1D.
Trent Emerson has smoldering blue eyes, deep dimples, and he perfectly skates that irresistible line between nice guy and bad boy. Hardened by her tragic past, Kacey is determined to keep everyone at a distance, but their mutual attraction is undeniable and Trent is determined to find a way into Kacey’s guarded heart—even if it means that an explosive secret could shatter both their worlds.

I loved the cover of Ten Tiny Breaths from the moment I saw it, and then after hearing rave reviews from fellow bloggers and readers, I just knew I had to see for myself what all the hype was about.

From the first page to the last, K.A. Tucker’s Ten Tiny Breaths sucked me in and never let go. Beginning to end, front to back… this book was pure perfection. I couldn’t put it down, stayed up all night to read it… and though seriously sleep-deprived, this amazing book was unquestionably worth it. My mind is blown and to this day, I remain profoundly affected by K.A. Tucker’s sensational writing.

Prior to reading this story, I would have said that all books need sex for me to like it. I usually enjoy some hanky-panky in my reads, but Ten Tiny Breaths was relatively clean. More suggestive than anything, the “sex scenes” were very mild, not graphic at all. While this novel is firmly in the romance category, it has so much depth and meaning that other books lack; it truly belongs in a class all its own. I’ve already made a space for Ten Tiny Breaths on my bookshelf, and once it comes out in paperback I’m going to run to the store to buy a copy for myself. I also plan to buy a few others to give to my younger sister and her friends, since they’ll be driving soon and they NEED to read this. In fact, all drivers – no matter their age – should read this!

Ten Tiny Breaths is one of those unforgettable reads that gets under your skin, and stays with you long after you finish the last sentence. As I sit here typing this, I want to tell you everything… but I can’t. There aren’t enough words to convey how incredibly powerful, and beautifully written this story is. Reading Ten Tiny Breaths was like an emotional roller coaster. I felt everything Kacey experienced because K.A. Tucker didn’t sugarcoat the details. She candidly depicted the reality of drunk driving and the horrible aftermath that can follow all the victims of car accidents. To take such a topic, and make this amazing story out of it, requires a unique gift. I can only gape in awe, and thank Ms. Tucker for sharing it with us.

*A NetGalley copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.

[-♥-] Buy it @ AMAZON | B&N

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2013 by in REVIEW.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

