A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

CAISEY QUINN [Author Spotlight]

caisey

Getting to know CAISEY…

Q – When did you know you wanted to be a writer?
A – I wish I had some epic story about this life changing moment when the heavens opened up and angels trumpeted and I realized my destiny. Sorry, y’all. I pretty much starting writing stories as soon as I could write.  I did, however, realize I wanted to be a “published author” when I sent in a poem I wrote to a magazine in the 9th grade.  It was selected for publication and made my life complete. 😉
Q – Where does the inspiration for your stories come from?
A – So far, each and every story I’ve written is different. Girl with Guitar, my debut novel, was inspired by a few random comments a guy made at a party about his cousin opening up for Blake Shelton and Miranda Lambert before they were as big as they are now. My next novel, Keep Me Still, was inspired by my niece who has seizures and my own experience of running into a random guy from my hometown at college orientation after not seeing him for years. My current work in progress, Last Second Chance, was inspired by the Beautiful Republic song of the same title. I pretty much find inspiration everywhere and have to reign myself in to keep from grabbing the nearest pen and jotting things down every moment of the day. 
Q – What are some of your favorite books and authors to read?
A – Oh gosh. I have a Top 10 List with explanations that would take up this entire post. Short list: My favorite books are the classics: Jane Eyre, Les Mis, Wuthering Heights, and pretty much anything by Jane Austen. (I was a high school English teacher in my former life). My more current faves are books by John Green (The Fault in Our Stars), Jennifer Echols (EVERY BOOK SHE’S EVER WRITTEN), E.M. Tippetts (Someone Else’s Fairytale, Castles on the Sand), Veronica Roth (Divergent series), and the super steamy romances by Tessa Bailey, Cherrie Lynn, and Diane Alberts.
Q – Have you ever based a character off of someone you know and love? Or someone you don’t like?
A – Most of my characters are kind of a mesh-up of multiple people I know or have encountered at some time or another.  I don’t always realize it until after the fact. 
Q – Describe your writing process. Where do you like to write?
A – I am a #nightwriter. 😉 I literally will forego sleep until I am near insanity to write. (This is also because I am a mom to a rambunctious 3-year-old and can only write when she is asleep). I have a comfy seat in my living room as well as a desk in my home office where I can usually be found clicking away on my keyboard. Lots of my stories begin as random stream-of-conscious notes on my notes app on my iPhone though. 😉 As far as my process, I usually take those jumbled notes on my phone and wrestle them into a synopsis. Then I outline/plot-graph based around the conflict—getting my characters to it and through it. And thus is the beginning of many a sleepless night!
Q – Let’s pretend you’re only allowed to read one book for the entire month, which would pick and why?
A – This is just mean. Pretending is supposed to be fun! ONE BOOK?? 😉 If you ask me next month, my answer will be different. But this month it’s a tie between Tessa Bailey’s Protecting What’s His and Cherrie Lynn’s Leave Me Breathless. 
Q – What do you like to do when you’re not reading and writing?
A – Usually I just crash out and catch up on that sleep I’ve been missing. 😉 But I am also a runner and am usually training for upcoming 5ks, 8ks, or 10ks. Working my way up to next year’s Mercedes Marathon in my hometown. 


THIS OR THAT… AND SOME FAVORITE THINGS:

HARDCOVER, PAPERBACK, OR E-BOOK
A year ago I would’ve said Hardcover. Hands down. But I have recently become addicted to building my Kindle Library!
COUNTRY OR ROCK MUSIC
COUNTRY, Y’ALL!
DARK CHOCOLATE OR MILK CHOCOLATE
I am an indiscriminate chocoholic. Why? Do you have some on you??
TATTOOS OR PIERCINGS
Tattoos.
BAD BOY OR THE GUY NEXT DOOR
Both, please! Or whichever one has dimples and abs. 
FAVORITE BOOK
Again with the one book…This is like asking me to choose the favorite of my hundreds of children. 😉 Sorry, just can’t do it. 
FAVORITE FICTIONAL CHARACTER
At the moment, Katniss Everdeen. 
FAVORITE MOVIE
At this time, Pitch Perfect. Can.Not.Stop.Watching. Which also leads to me re-watching The Breakfast Club. Really need someone to make a DVD containing both. 
FAVORITE BAND/SONG
Hmm… I have an unhealthy, slightly stalker-ish relationship with Luke Bryan. Basically every new song of his becomes my instant favorite. 
FAVORITE ACTOR/ACTRESS
I have mad girl crushes on Jennifer Lawrence and Anna Kendrick.

Screen Shot 2013-05-09 at 3.18.32 AM

Not sure if I’m interesting enough for 7. Can I do 5??? Gonna try my best here…
  1. I collect books about road trips. If there’s a cute boy, a mix tape, and convenient store junk food in it—it’s mine. Newest addition to my collection is Two Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt.
  2. I don’t have a left wrist. (You’re like: Whaaa???) It’s true. When I was 16, I was in a nearly fatal car accident that left me with a bunch of pins and plates and rods instead of things like bones and joints. Doesn’t stop me from typing out my stories, just slows me down a bit sometimes.
  3. I’m a speed-reader. Like an actual one. So is my mom. Used to be much better at in when I did more reading than writing, but I’m still pretty fast. 😉
  4. I got stuck in an elevator in The Louvre when I was in college and had to be rescued. It was pretty embarrassing and also resulted in being yelled at in French in front of a huge crowd (like it was my fault?!?!).
  5. My big TV debut came when I was filmed in the audience at a recording of The Tonight Show. I was so sunburned I looked like a tomato in the crowd. 😉
  6. I’m allergic to deer urine. Never telling a soul how I discovered this random allergy.
  7. I will eat Nutella straight from the jar with the biggest spoon I can find until I can no longer stand the sight of it. Until I get over it and do it again.

Screen Shot 2013-05-09 at 3.08.41 AM

????????????????????????????????????????????????

KEEP ME STILL (Expected release: September 29, 2013)
The thing about secrets is, they can either bind you together or tear you apart.   -Layla
Layla Flaherty had the perfect life, or close to it. Until a stranger gunned her parents down right in front of her, leaving her with seizure inducing PTSD. After years of trying to pass as normal and failing miserably, she resigns herself to being invisible. But new to town Landon O’Brien sees her, and he likes what he sees. Much to Layla’s surprise, he doesn’t freak out when she has a seizure in front of him. He does the exact opposite, wrapping his strong arms around her and calming her until the tremors subside. But Landon’s family situation changes and he moves away before they graduate high school, reinforcing Layla’s belief that everyone can leave.
When Layla leaves her hometown of Hope Springs, Georgia, she hopes to put her painful past behind her and start over in college in California. But when she runs into Landon at freshmen orientation, she has a choice to make. Reinforce those steel walls she’s built up around herself, or give the only boy who can keep her still a second chance. Landon’s more than ready to tear down those walls, but this time, they might bury her.
Songs on the Soundtrack: Kiss Me Slowly by Parachute, Jar of Hearts by Christina Perri, Arms by Christina Perri

7041163GIRL WITH GUITAR (Expected release: May 22, 2013)
After Kylie’s dad dies in a freak accident, he leaves her with nothing other than her crazy stepmother, Darla, and the ability to play guitar. When Darla kicks Kylie out and she loses her job all in the same day, she hops a bus to Nashville determined to make her late father’s dreams come true. Waitressing and saving her pennies to record a demo, her big break comes when she’s asked to join a tour going down the tubes with once platinum album-selling country music superstar Trace Corbin. But touring with Trace is hardly a dream come true since he’s pretty much drinking his career down the drain. If Kylie can’t pull Trace out of his rut, he’ll pull her and her dreams down with him.
Songs on the Soundtrack: Dark Side by Kelly Clarkson, Hard to Love by Lee Brice

Screen Shot 2013-05-09 at 3.14.32 AM

Click HERE for your chance to win a copy of GIRL WITH GUITAR & an iTunes gift card!

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 5.35.36 PM

caiseyCaisey Quinn is a wearer of cowgirl boots, writer and avid reader of New Adult romance, lover of wine, who is addicted to chai tea lattes.
She is also the brand spanking new author of soon to be released books including Girl with Guitar and Keep Me Still (which may or may not include spanking).
A Gemini, wife, mom, and former high school English teacher living in Birmingham, Alabama, she spends her days chasing a three-year-old and hiding away with her Macbook.
She spends her nights writing because sleep is overrated.

Connect with CAISEY:

Website | Facebook | Twitter Goodreads

2 comments on “CAISEY QUINN [Author Spotlight]

  1. CaiseyQuinn
    May 9, 2013

    Thanks so much for having me!! 😉

  2. Pingback: FEATURING ME! | Caisey Quinn

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2013 by in Author Interview, AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT, Giveaway.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

