A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

Blog Tour: STRIPPED – Brooklyn Skye

Welcome to my stop on the STRIPPED blog tour hosted by YA Bound! To add STRIPPED to your Goodreads, simply click on the book cover below.strippedcover3_5x8

ANA Review: 3½ hearts

“I like you.” His voice is low and soft, which I don’t deserve. I look away, down the rutted parking lot.
“Don’t…waste those words on me.”
He touches my cheek. “You just need someone to show you.”
“No.” I ease back again. “I don’t. So please, Torrin, stop trying to swoop in and save me. I don’t need saving.”
College freshman Quinn Montgomery will do anything to avoid the mistake her sister made—killing herself over a boy. But when she is forced into nude modeling at a local college to support her family after a bankruptcy, she begins to crack, just enough to let Torrin, the university’s top varsity oarsman, see that the real Quinn is not as feisty and unapproachable as she wants everyone to think. But letting someone in comes at a steep cost and, it turns out, Torrin is connected to Quinn’s family in more ways than she could ever imagine.

I saw the blurb for Stripped and knew I had to read it. I was immediately drawn to its unique plot, and now, having finished the story, I can say that I really liked enjoyed this emotional, heartwrenching novel. It is, by no means, a “fluffy read.” Stripped deals with some heavy issues, including suicide. But content aside, I thought this book was well written and that the story flowed naturally.

So why 3½ stars? For me, it comes down to the characters. In Stripped we meet Quinn and Torrin, two broken people just trying to deal with what life’s thrown at them. From the onset, I really felt for Quinn. She’s had a lot to deal with, but as a main character, she was so difficult to like. Quinn has such a hard shell.. she’s self-destructive, angry, hurt, surly, and quite simply, a meanie, closed-off jerk. It took a while, but eventually I came to like her – just a little bit.

Torrin, on the other hand, was a home run for me. He’s sexy, strong, funny, and caring. Like Quinn, he has things in his past he’d like to hide, but he was determined that she was the one for him. My problem was that there wasn’t enough of Torrin. There was so much more I wanted to know about him, but never got the chance to because the author only scratched the surface with this drool-worthy man.

In spite of my issues with characterization, I enjoyed Stripped and would recommend it to anyone looking for a heavy-hitting emotional read.

[♥♥♥/♥] Buy it @ AMAZONB&N

Screen Shot 2013-05-03 at 6.49.41 AM

What’s up for grabs? One signed paperback copy of Stripped (US only) OR one e-book copy with authorgraph (open internationally)! Just click on “GIVEAWAY” to enter.

Stripped blog tour banner

Click the banner ↑ above to see the full blog tour schedule.

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 5.35.36 PM

brooklyn skye
Brooklyn Skye is just your average awkward girl who’s obsessed with words.
She grew up in a small California town where she quickly realized writing was an easy escape from small town life.

—–Connect with BROOKLYN:—– Website | Twitter | Goodreads

One comment on “Blog Tour: STRIPPED – Brooklyn Skye

  1. Ashley P
    May 20, 2013

    Thanks for the giveaway~~

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2013 by in BLOG TOUR, Giveaway, REVIEW.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

