A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

Blog Tour: GOOD VIBRATIONS – S.L. Scott

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071]Available NOW at Amazon and B&N

I grab her exploring finger just as it reaches my happy trail—a trail that if I let her wander down further will lead us to do things we can’t take back. Things like three-word phrases being confessed that would end me if I was rejected. Things like selfishly wanting to own her body and doing things to her that would make my fantasies blush. And things like making her promises too soon that won’t do either of us any good. She makes me want a future that’s not possible, and one I don’t deserve.

Listening to my ego got me into this situation. Will listening to my heart get me out?

Interview with S.L. Scott:

Q: What was the most difficult part for you when writing GOOD VIBRATIONS?
Trying to capture that balance of two people who are resisting what they feel while showing their strong emotions. Evan and Mallory are a lot of like in the sense that they tend to battle themselves because of their own past issues and they are both really stubborn.
 
Q: What was the easiest part?
Their hookups. Those always flowed and felt natural because it felt like they guided their story, their journey. I was just recording it. So their hookups came with purpose. Yes, they have quite a few of these in the book, but for good or bad, they have trouble staying away from each other.
 
Q: What is your favorite scene or was your favorite to write? Don’t forget to tell us why. 
There’s this part in the rain. I swoon over a kiss in the rain and if you’ve ever been to Hawaii, you know they have lots of rain showers. Most are ten minutes or so, but they are common. So there’s a scene when Evan is on the patio waiting for Mallory (she does not know) and it pours on him, but he remains. When she opens that door… well, I just get weak to romance in the rain is all I’ll say to avoid spoilers. This story is so visual to me, so this book plays in my head like a movie and I love the vividness especially with the beach and island as the backdrop to the story.
 
Q: What type of music did you listen to while writing this book?
I have a playlist going that will eventually be listed on my blog. Musically this story gave me the ability to have a range of great songs that fed my writing soul. Here are four off the top of my head:
~ Green Day “Welcome to Paradise” was great when the guys are out surfing
~ Breaking Point “All Messed Up” is Evan’s theme song in my mind.
~ Paramore “Only Exception” Mallory fights the draw to Evan that she feels inside
~ John Mayer “Your Body is a Wonderland” Evan and Mallory have an instant sexual chemistry
And pretty much the entire “Blue Crush” soundtrack.
 
Q: What authors or books have influenced you as a reader and/or a writer?
I love New Adult which didn’t really exist when I started writing New Adult years ago. I love all of the current popular authors in this genre from Jaime McGuire, Katja Millay, and Colleen Hoover. I’m also really digging some romantic comedy women’s fiction like what Daisy Prescott is writing. Her book is really enjoyable and gives good swoon.
As for influences, the classics are a staple. Jane Austen captured life in her times so eloquently. Katja Millay wrote the best last line ever. I hope to end my books with such power one day too. I’m always striving to better my skills.
 
Q: What’s next for you writing wise that you can share with us?
Book Two of this Welcome to Paradise series. I’m so excited to be publishing my first series. It’s exciting to have the time to reveal things when it’s right and in a more organic way. The series also gives me the ability to really explore each part of Mallory and Evan’s journey. 

giveaway

Click HERE to enter the TICKET TO PARADISE Giveaway – winner’s choice!

Good Vibrations Tour Banner

To see other stops for reviews, guest posts, and excerpts, click on the tour banner above.

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 5.35.36 PM

Crop 3
S.L. Scott has a degree in Journalism and is the author of the novels – Naturally, Charlie, and A Prior Engagement as well as several novellas, including Sleeping with Mr. Sexy and Morning Glory – all currently available on Amazon. Pursuing her passion for telling stories, she spends her days escaping into her characters, letting them lead her on their adventures. She is a Contributor to Huffington Post and writes for her own blog along with several other popular sites.
Traveling, music festivals, and surfing are a few of the hobbies she loves, but she doesn’t get to enjoy on a regular basis. She has an obsession with movies, a varied taste in books, and collects Fitz & Floyd teapots. With a memory full of useless trivia facts, and a Keurig addiction, she loves a fun night in with her family as much as a loud night out with her friends.
Scott lives in the lively city of Austin with her husband, two young sons, and two Papillons, enjoying life in the beautiful hill country of Texas.
She welcomes your notes at sl@slscottauthor.com.

Connect with S.L.: Website | Facebook | Twitter | PinterestGoodreads

2 comments on “Blog Tour: GOOD VIBRATIONS – S.L. Scott

  1. tabbiecat23
    June 11, 2013

    Sounds like an amazing book! 🙂 I can’t wait to read it!

  2. Randi Newman
    June 11, 2013

    Sounds awesome…I definately would love to read this book..it’s, for sure, on my TBR list!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2013 by in BLOG TOUR, Giveaway.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

