A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

Blog Tour: WHEN YOU’RE READY – J.L. Berg

whenyoureready

ANA Review: 5 hearts

When Clare Murray suffers the tragic loss of her husband Ethan, leaving her alone to raise their infant daughter, she feels the grief overwhelming her, seeping into her very soul.  Weeks later, she stumbles upon an envelope with the words “When You’re Ready” written in Ethan’s familiar messy handwriting, but can’t bring herself to breach the seal.  Ready for what?  He was her entire world, and Clare has accepted a life without him, without love.  Until, years later, fate brings her to an emergency room, and face to face with stormy eyed doctor intent on changing her mind.

Logan Matthews is the son of a billionaire who has spent his entire life trying to make his absent father proud.  Years of living up to man who more ghost than father, and a public failed marriage has left Logan cold and emotionless until he walks into an exam room to discover a woman who stops his heart, makes his body burn with desire and leaves his entire world altered.

But how far are Clare and Logan willing to go for love?  When their love is tested, is Clare ready to put her whole heart on the line again?  Can Logan learn the true meaning of love, even if it means sacrificing his own happiness?  When a second chance at love is given, Clare and Logan learn you never know you are truly ready until you’re ready to risk it all.

I’m in the midst of my third re-read – that’s right, third – and there is no doubt in my mind that I’ll be picking up WHEN YOU’RE READY to read it over and over again for many years to come. Why? It has just the right amount of every element you could want in a story – drama, angst, past & future conflict, comic relief, uncertainty, sexual tension, romance… WYR is absolute perfection in black & white. Everything from the characters and dialogue, to Ethan’s letter, getting his and Clare AND Logan’s POV, to the seashells and tiramisu, I loved every second and every word.
I’m so glad I got to meet these endearing characters. Having read this book twice before, they’ve become so real to me… I want to play the jelly bean game with Clare, hang out with Leah, and dislocate a finger just to show up in Dr. Mcsteamy’s – I mean, Dr. Logan Matthews’ – ER. Though Clare & Logan are the main characters, I adored cute little Maddie’s sass and precociousness. She says (and does) the darnedest things. Her laughter lights up a room, and the relationship she has with her mom is just precious. Leah is a hoot and a half, and anyone would be lucky to have her as a best friend. She can take me shopping anytime and I need her story, like yesterday.
Logan was compared to Ian Somerholder in the actual book and cast as him by several WYR fans – if you “attended” the virtual release party on FB, you’ll know what I’m talking about. In my opinion, Logan is lightyears beyond Ianwhatshisface. The man is gorgeous, thoughtful (best first date ever!), and a doctor to boot! I was both jealous of Clare and rooting for her. It was wonderful to witness her growth and Logan’s journey. After losing her husband, Logan helped Clare come alive again and she, in turn, taught Logan that’s he capable of loving and being loved. I  was taken on an emotional rollercoaster ride with each paragraph of WYR I read, and. I really wanted to jump into my Kindle and experience what they were going through. So J.L. if you want to write in a PJ in your next book, I’d be down with that 😉
From the first page to the last, J.L. Berg had me spellbound and so lost in her beautiful, heartfelt, writing, I was both sad & happy when I finally finished this wonderful book. I wanted more & was flabbergasted to learn that WYR is the author’s debut novel! Absolutely could not believe it because this woman is a hell of a storyteller, it’s like she’s been doing this for years. I’m no expert, but if the saying that “writers get better with time” is true, then the literary world should be very very afraid. WYR, to me, is like the Harry Potter of romance – one of the best things I’ve ever read, hands down – and I can’t wait for more from Mrs. Berg. Her next novel supposedly comes out next February, which stinks because that’s next year and I’m impatient. Crossing my fingers for an earlier release, but in the meantime, I have several months to re-read WYR some more! 

[♥♥♥♥♥] Buy it @ AMAZON | B&N | SMASHWORDS

Banner 2For more stops on the WHEN YOU’RE READY book tour, click on the banner above!

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 5.35.36 PM

I’m a California native, who lives in the South – Virginia to be exact. I still prefer sushi to fried chicken, avocados to okra, and I absolutely loathe humidity. I do love watching the seasons change though. My husband and I have been here for ten years, and I still get giddy like a school girl every time it snows.
I’m married to my high school sweetheart. We were married young, barely out of high school. Everyone told us we were crazy and stupid. We’ll be celebrating 12 years of marriage this year, and I love him more every single day. We’re living proof that true love knows no age limit.
We’ve been blessed with two beautiful daughters who continue to amaze and inspire me, and are probably making me go a bit insane. I’m obsessed with yoga and pilates and am a complete chocoholic. I apologize in advance for the amount of sweets in my book.
I’m absolutely obsessed with romance novels (duh) and probably could have built a vacation home with the amount of money I’ve invested in them over the years. Romance novels take you to another place, making your heart race, emotions swell, passion run free. After so many years of meeting hundreds of fictional characters and discovering their worlds, I found myself creating my own.

Connect with J.L. on her: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

3 comments on “Blog Tour: WHEN YOU’RE READY – J.L. Berg

  1. Thank you for hosting today!!

  2. roxymeto
    August 5, 2013

    cong. for the book and thank you

  3. lovely jasmin
    August 6, 2013

    look nice book

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 5, 2013 by in BLOG TOUR.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

