A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

MY EVERYTHING – Heidi McLaughlin

everything

ANA Review: 4½ hearts

When Nick Ashford lost his friend, Mason, he didn’t realize he was going to lose his family as well, but that’s exactly what happened. Alone and in a foreign country, Nick is working on rebuilding his life one patient at a time, that is, until a striking volunteer makes her presence known.
Can Nick finish his year in Africa without risking his heart being broken again, or is he willing to start a new chapter in his life before his return to Beaumont?

Even though I was a basket case while reading it, I loved My Forever Girl. I felt bipolar, oscillating from one emotion to another. One minute I hated Liam, loved Nick… the next minute I was Team Liam, and loathed Nick. I was happy with the ending of course. It turned out just as I had hoped, and I thought that was it… I was ok with Nick dropping off the face of the earth (or rather, the U.S.), because it was convenient for Liam & Josie to get their HEA. Done. Put a bow on it. Bring on Harrison’s story!
And then Heidi came out with My Everything, a novella about Nick, and I didn’t know what to do. I still wasn’t sure how I felt about him, or finding out what became of him, because I was happy with My Forever Girl’s ending. Through Liam’s POV in that book, I forgave him and came to love his character. And while I appreciated Nick stepping in for Josie & Noah, and consequently felt bad for him when those relationships fell apart after Liam’s reappearance, I sort of felt that, like Josie, I had to choose between the two men. By the end of My Forever Girl, I had chosen Liam’s side. That said, I made a conscious decision not to read My Everything. I didn’t think it would do anything for me or add to the story. Liam & Josie’s story was done. My Unexpected Forever would focus on Harrison & Katelyn, so what’s the point really in bothering with the novella?
Because I’m a Beaumont Daily stalker, and pay attention to everything Heidi posts, when she mentioned that one should read My Everything before My Unexpected Forever, I took notice. I’m a stop on the upcoming blog tour, and having already re-read My Forever Girl, I was just waiting  for my ARC of My Unexpected Forever. After serious, and I mean serious, consideration, I decided to bite the bullet and get the book. I really want the full “Beaumont effect”. And if Heidi says I NEED to read My Everything before I can get my Harrison on, then I just have to put on big girl panties and do it. She wrote these stories so obviously she’d be the authority on the reading order, right?
This is a long review for a relatively short story, but I wanted to share my struggle to actually start reading this novella because I know other people had this same issue about Nick. Now that I’ve finished My Everything, and gotten into the man’s head, I am so so so glad I did listen to Ms. McLaughlin. (Heidi sure knows what she’s talking about!)
Though My Everything focuses on Nick & his leading lady, Audrey, it’s truly about Nick’s transformation while volunteering abroad and how he he’s able to reconcile his present & future with his past upon his return to Beaumont.  The “meat” of the story, at least in my opinion, isn’t until the end of the novella… when Nick comes home and meets with Noah. It wasn’t until their interaction that I truly appreciated getting Nick’s perspective. Witnessing his internal struggle and reading his thoughts about the Liam situation, I really felt for him because you get a sense of his love for Noah and his remorse for how he handled things.
I still adore Liam, but now I’m also a Nick fan. I’m glad that he’s come to peace with Liam & Josie… that he’s found his forever love in Audrey, and gets to be a part of Noah’s life. Now I really can put a bow on it and start my My Unexpected Forever ARC so I can get to know Harrison better 😉  

[♥♥♥♥/♥] Buy it @ AMAZON | B&N

author's

Heidi is the author of USA Today, Digital Book World, Amazon and Barnes & Noble Bestselling novel, Forever My Girl.
Originally from the Pacific Northwest, she now lives in picturesque Vermont, with her husband and two daughters. Also renting space in their home is an over-hyper Beagle/Jack Russell and two Parakeets.
During the day Heidi is behind a desk talking about Land Use. At night, she’s writing one of the many stories planned for release or sitting court-side during either daughter’s basketball games.

Connect with HEIDI: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2013 by in REVIEW.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

