A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

Blog Tour: BEAUTIFUL CHANCES – Alicia Rae

CoverAvailable NOW at Amazon and B&N

After losing her parents and sister in a tragic car accident, Lily distances herself from those still around her. As she solely focuses on her work, she refuses to form any emotional attachments in fear of struggling through another unbearable loss.

…until Kyle enters her life with his possessive and overbearing personality. Instead of running, Lily finds herself drawn to him. Helping her on a path to healing, Kyle stands by her side and lends her his strength.

A bond is formed, but it is tested when the unthinkable happens.

Can taking a chance on love conquer all?

CHAPTER 18: Alternate POV

Screen Shot 2013-09-14 at 10.07.01 AM

Exhaling loudly, I rapped reluctantly on Travis’s door, not really wanting to interrupt whatever the hell he and Quinn were doing in there.
Well, it wasn’t really whatever the hell. I did have a good idea, and I wished I was doing it right now too. Lucky bastard. I had a shitty day. Having it wiped out by someone like Quinn would have turned it all around.
“Um, sorry, guys,” I called through the door as I shoved the thought away, “but, Travis, it’s the phone, mate. It’s one of your work assignments.”
Quickly moving away, I went to the fridge for a beer. It would have to do the job that sex couldn’t. So would television. I flopped back on the couch, bottle in hand, and stared blankly at the screen. The movie I’d been watching with Travis and Quinn was paused, silently reminding me that
there was still another hour of the torture to get through. It was a sappy love fest with some supposed action thrown in, but I’d yet to see it. I’d lived through more action sitting at my desk filling out endless police reports.
Travis slipped out of the bedroom door, tying back his hair and sliding his shuttered expression into place. I knew that face. It was the same one I wore almost every day. It was a good face. It didn’t tell people shit, and in our line of work, that could sometimes mean the difference between staying alive or getting shot.
“Take care of my girl,” he muttered as he slipped by me, heading for the front door.
Travis glanced over his shoulder at me, and unable to resist, I grabbed my crotch and grinned. “I’ll make sure she’s well looked after, don’t you worry.”
My words smacked the shuttered expression right off his face in favour of narrowed eyes and flared nostrils. Getting the desired reaction, I laughed out loud.
Shaking his head, Travis disappeared out the door, shutting it none too gently behind him. Well, that was fun for a few seconds, what now?
“Quinn? You can come out. I don’t bite!” I yelled out. “Much,” I muttered under my breath.
She emerged from Travis’s room in a tank top and little pair of sleep shorts. Fuck me she was cute. We were already close after knowing each other for such a short time because we shared a connection. Not a good one, but one that brought us closer together. I could honestly say I loved her and with everything going on right now, I wanted to be the big brother she could turn to when things went to shit.
Finished pouring a wine, she joined me on the couch and glanced at the television. “Prolonging the torture?” she asked.
I shrugged, liking that she didn’t show me the same reservation I saw come out in her around others. “Didn’t want you to miss it. If I have to sit here and watch this crap, you have to too.”
With that I pressed play, tilted my head back on the couch, and zoned out. What felt like a lifetime later, the credits rolled.
“Mmm,” she mumbled sleepily. “That movie was shit.”
A smile spread slowly across my face at the understatement of the century and I chuckled. Not yet ready to face a cold, empty bed, I asked,
“Wanna watch another one?” I probably should have let her get some sleep, but she agreed. Relieved
at having the company, I loaded my movie choice in the DVD player this time while she returned to the kitchen. Disappearing in my room, I grabbed a pair of sweatpants and got changed.
I came back out to an open fridge door and Quinn bent over, her head buried inside it. To give myself credit, I really did try not to stare at her ass, but I was a man after all. It was almost an automatic requirement. Maybe not so much when the woman in question was your best mate’s girl, but she was female, and breathing, and sometimes that’s really all it took.
“Tea, coffee, beer?” she called out.
“Sex,” I muttered under my breath, but obviously that wasn’t on
tonight’s menu. Jesus. I needed to get laid and get sex off the brain. “Beer me, Quinn,” I told her.
Shrieking a little, she jumped and elbowed me in the chest. Obviously she wasn’t expecting me right behind her. “Oh God, sorry.”
I smothered a grin at her pretty flush. “My fault.”
Drinks in hand, we returned to the couch. I snatched up the remote, not willing to let Quinn even look at it, let alone touch it like she did last time.
She glanced at me sideways. “This job Travis got called out to. He’s not in any danger is he?”
After taking a deep pull of my beer, I exhaled heavily. “Nah,” I lied casually. Having Quinn up half the night worrying wouldn’t do her any good. “Just another sorry custody dispute.” That was the truth, but it was one that was escalating wildly out of control. With my eyes trained to the
television, I explained, “We get called in when it gets out of hand. You know you’d think it’s good—both parents loving the kid so much they can’t agree who gets to spend more time with them—but that’s hardly ever what it’s about.”
“What is it about?”
“Winning,” I muttered bitterly, swiping a hand across my face. All
those parents who claimed to give a shit, it wasn’t about their kids. It was
about them. What they could get and how far they’d go to get it. It made my
stomach roll. “But for there to be a winner, there’s got to be a loser, right?
And we all know who that turns out to be.”
Not wanting to take the conversation further, I pressed play on the
movie.
“Is that what happened with you? Travis says he does what he does
because of you.”
Is that what happened to me? My chest tightened painfully at the loaded
question. My fuck up lost me everything, including myself. Maybe I could
tell her one day. Quinn would understand at least some of it, but other parts
might be too much for her to hear. I swallowed hard and forced a chuckle.
“Travis and I have been friends since we started uni, so I know how you feel
around the Valentines, Quinn. They’ll be quick to tell you they’re not the
perfect family, and they aren’t. But they’re not perfect in the way that it
counts.”
“What way is that?”
“Love of course. They grew up with it. People like you and me, Quinn,
we grew up with fear.”
Perfect didn’t matter when you were loved, because love—the type the
Valentine family share—that’s unconditional. No matter how hard I tried,
and eventually failed, I never experienced anything like it; not until I met
Travis, and even then it took years for me to trust it. No matter what, a
Valentine always had my back. I wanted that for Quinn, and after the fallout
from their Melbourne trip, it still burned that I hadn’t been there.
“I’m sorry I wasn’t there for you in Melbourne,” I told her, effectively
changing the subject.
“Casey—”
“But if there’s a next time…” God fucking forbid “…you get straight on
your phone and ring Travis. If you can’t get Travis, you ring me. You can’t
get me, you ring Jared, you can’t get—”
“Casey.” She held up a hand, cutting off what appeared to be the
beginning of a rant. Since when the fuck did I rant? Since now, apparently.
Huh. “I’ve had this chat with Travis already. And Mitch. And Jared,” she added.
Good. I would have been disappointed if they hadn’t stepped up and told her how it was going to be, but damn it all if I didn’t want to have my say. “It’s my turn, and this won’t take long.”
Quinn nodded, sipping at the last of her wine before placing the empty glass on the coffee table. Sitting back, she appeared to be bracing herself. I wasn’t that much of a hardass, was I?
“I know what Travis was like before you, and I know what he’s like since you, and I like the latter.” My voice was firm as I held her eyes and spoke the truth.
Travis had been there. He’d seen me through the worst. I always had his back, and he, mine. Seeing the change in him, the spark of happiness in his eyes, was deserved.
“He smiles like he means it, even after a long shitty day like he’s dealing with today.” I tapped a finger to my temple. “Up here, there’s you at the back of all that, making his day not so shit because at the end of it, he gets you. You leave, he loses that and we lose him, and I don’t like that. I already feel guilty enough getting him involved in what he does, but it doesn’t come as easy for him to deal with because he hasn’t lived it. So you understand me when I say don’t ever think about leaving again.”
Taking a deep breath, Quinn looked away, nodding at the television.
“We’re missing the movie.”
Understanding the diversionary tactic, I saluted her with my beer and we both settled in to watch The Fast and the Furious.
“Paul Walker’s hot,” she blurted out. “He reminds me of Henry.”
I tilted my head, watching the apparent man of the hour on screen. I didn’t see it. Paul Walker was dressed like a ten year old. Shaking my head, I glanced sideways at Quinn. “So you think Henry’s hot?”
“Well I’m not blind,” she mumbled.
I smirked.
“Oh shush,” she muttered, slapping my shoulder.
“I like having you here, Quinn,” I told her, because I did. I felt comfortable, like I could be myself around her and not have to think carefully about what I said, or what I gave away.
“You do?”
“Yeah.” I cleared my throat, swallowing a hard lump in my throat. She was like family, and mine was gone. “I had a brother but I never had a sister.”
A multitude of emotions crossed her face, but eventually, her eyes, wide with shock, found mine, realising what I’d admitted to. “Wait. You had a brother?”
I nodded towards the television, gripping the empty beer bottle in my shaky hands so it wouldn’t smash to the floor. “We’re missing the movie.”
With relief, I felt her let it go and face the television. As the movie played out, I fought to get myself under control until I could breathe again.

giveawayKindle Fire GIVEAWAY open to US & Canada residents ONLY

Banner

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 5.35.36 PM

7159360 (1)Alicia Rae is a Contemporary Romance Author who lives in Dekalb, Illinois, with her husband and three beautiful boys. Alicia has a passion for reading all types of romance, writing to bring a story to life, and photography.
Thank you to my dear sister, Kels, who showed me a few years ago how much I truly missed reading. And to my loving husband, for not throwing away my Nook, and planting the seed of writing into my mind. I am forever grateful. Xo
Readers, words cannot thank you enough for supporting me along this incredible journey. I hope you enjoy my novels as much as I do writing them. I thank each and every one of you.
Believe in yourself and follow your dreams…

Connect with ALICIA on her: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2013 by in BLOG TOUR.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

