A Novel Affair [book blog]

My not-so-secret affair with romance novels

Blog Tour: DESPERATION OF LOVE – Alice Montalvo-Tribue

DOLAvailable NOW at Amazon | B&N | Smashwords

To the outside world, Jordan Burke appears to have the perfect life. A fulfilling career, family and great friends, but looks can be deceiving. Events from her childhood, and a painful secret, keep Jordan isolated and unwilling to commit to any man. For her, every relationship comes with its own expiration date.

Alex Garza has lived in the shadow of his brother’s fame for most of his life. He’s an outcast in his own family and never able to put his own needs first. When his brother gives up his career to settle down, Alex is forced to reevaluate his life plans too. Over the past year, his friendship with Jordan has developed into a source of comfort. Now that he has the time to devote to a relationship, can he convince her to take a chance on love or will their painful pasts and a tragic event destroy their future?

An exclusive excerpt:

VICTOR & ALEX

“Have you been spending any more time with Jordan?” He probes, phrasing the question in a way that makes me believe he might already know the answer.
“What?” I laugh his question off, trying to make it seem like it’s a preposterous idea.
“Don’t do that,” he says, jerking his chin in my direction. All traces of humor are now gone. “I know you better than anyone.”
“Do what, little brother?” I question, shrugging my shoulders at him.
“Blow off the question like it’s absurd. She’s beautiful and I know you two have always had a… friendly relationship.” 
“A friendly relationship… Yes, we do because we are friends.” 
“Friends with benefits?” I can see the smirk tugging at his lips.
“What are you, a girl? You want to go grab a cup of coffee and talk about our emotions and our sex lives? How is it with you and Ellie now, by the way? I hear women can’t get enough when they’re pregnant.” 
He laughs, thank God. That comment could’ve gone either way. I’m surprised he didn’t punch me in the face. I would have deserved it. “I’ll skip the coffee, and for the record, I’m not complaining about my sex life. It’s very satisfying.”
“Good to know. I’ll file that away in my memory to discuss in more detail next time we’re hanging at the mall.”
“You’re a shit, you know that?” He laughs. “Seriously, though. I love Jordan. She reminds me a lot of my wife when I first met her. She has a lot of the same fears that Ellie had. Just be careful with her. I think you could be good for her if you take it slow.”
“I love her.” The words are out of my mouth before I can stop them. I can’t believe I said them out loud and I want to take them back but it’s too late. Victor looks at me, eyes wide, mouth open, stunned silent, I imagine. “Say something,” I say, needing him to acknowledge what I’ve just admitted, anything to let me know he’s okay with what I just confessed.
“Maybe we should get that coffee,” he says. I burst out laughing.

DOLSale

Screen Shot 2013-05-03 at 6.49.41 AM

Click ↑ to enter the giveaway. For more stops on the tour click ↓

DOLTourBanner

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 5.35.36 PM

6949931
Alice Montalvo-Tribue lives with her husband and daughter in New Jersey.
She has a bachelors degree in communications and is currently working on her masters degree.
She spends most of her free time reading, writing, and when the weather permits lounging out on a beach

Connect with ALICE: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

EW Couture Timeline Covers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2013 by in BLOG TOUR, Excerpt, Giveaway.

about.me // PJE


Aloha! I'm PJ, the girl behind A Novel Affair [book blog].

Time machine

Tweets

